Skip to content
ALLRACE

Getting started

The cheapest ways into motorsport

Licence, entry and first-event costs for karting, road rallying, car trials, drag racing, autograss, motocross and more, from the governing bodies' and organisers' own published figures.

Guides · Updated 29 September 2026 · Sources at the end

The short answer

The lowest-cost ways in use a road car or no car at all. Road rallying: the RS Clubman licence is free and events start from £30. Car trials: entry is around £30–£40 per event, and a car is a few hundred pounds, or use your road car if the venue is suitable. Drag racing: Santa Pod’s Run What Ya Brung is £19 (including £3 booking fee) to get in plus £50 to run. Karting starts with arrive-and-drive (the K-X licence for outdoor arrive-and-drive series is free).

Cheapest first steps

  1. 1

    Road rallying

    Free licence, events from £30. In your own road car. Full guide

  2. 2

    Car trials

    Club membership around £20 per year, entry around £30–£40 per event. Car: a few hundred pounds, or use your road car if the venue is suitable. Full guide

  3. 3

    Drag racing (Run What Ya Brung)

    £19 (including £3 booking fee) admission plus £50 sign-on at Santa Pod. No competition licence needed to run. Full guide

  4. 4

    Karting

    Arrive-and-drive first. To race your own kart: the ARKS starter pack is £78 (Motorsport UK Shop, checked 10 Sep 2026; listed as sold out). Full guide

  5. 5

    Autograss

    Under £500 initial outlay to race Class 1, by one club's estimate (Cwmdu Car Club estimate, year not stated). Full guide

Every discipline, first costs

The first published costs for each discipline, as listed by the governing body or organiser. These are entry costs, not a season budget: the car, bike or kart, tyres, fuel and travel come on top.

DisciplineFirst costs
Karting
  • £78 (Motorsport UK Shop, checked 10 Sep 2026; listed as sold out) Your First Kart Competition Licence (ARKS) starter pack, includes first Kart Inter Club licence
  • Up to £100 including VAT, excluding kart hire; retakes up to £50 (written) or £60 (driving) ARKS test
  • £78 Kart Inter Club licence (annual)
Circuit racing
  • £119 (Motorsport UK Shop, checked 10 Sep 2026; listed as sold out) Your First Race Competition Licence (ARDS) starter pack, includes first Race Club licence
  • £289 in a school car; £245 in your own suitable car (phone booking) ARDS test at MSV (Brands Hatch, Donington Park, Oulton Park, Snetterton, Cadwell Park)
  • £295 ARDS Novice Driver Training Course at Croft
Rally
  • Free RS Clubman licence (road rallying)
  • From £30 Road rally event entry
  • £85 RS Inter Club licence (e.g. single-venue co-driving)
Hillclimb & sprint
  • £85 RS Inter Club licence (annual)
  • £55 annually BARC Yorkshire membership (Harewood)
Historic
  • £119 (Motorsport UK Shop, checked 10 Sep 2026; listed as sold out) Your First Race Competition Licence (ARDS) starter pack, includes first Race Club licence
  • £289 in a school car; £245 in your own suitable car ARDS test at MSV
Drifting
  • £399 per person Driftland Beginner Drift Training (venue car)
  • £100 driver; £50 car-share driver Driftland drift practice, own car (25 Aug 2025 session)
  • 3 hours private hire at £250 per hour (shareable by up to 8 drivers) plus £50 Driftland licence fee Driftland route for drivers without a full UK manual licence
Drag racing
  • £19 (including £3 booking fee) RWYB admission
  • £50 RWYB track sign-on
  • £26 admission; £50–£60 sign-on (varies by time) Saturday Night Special admission / sign-on
Bikes
  • £98 ACU competition licence (2026)
  • £155 all-in CTC + BRA in one day at Three Sisters, Wigan (PDMCC, 2026)
  • From £195 CTC + BRA course (No Limits Racing, 2026 page)
Motocross
  • £98 ACU competition licence (2026)
  • Early bird £45 (Inters £40); standard £50 (Inters £45); late £60 (Inters £55) AMCA event entry for licence holders (year not stated on page)
  • £75 (Inters £70); on the day £80 AMCA entry with one-day licence (year not stated on page)
Enduro
  • £98 ACU competition licence (2026)
  • £45 Tong Hare and Hounds entry, Manchester 17MCC (20 September 2026)
  • £20 ACU day licence at Tong Hare and Hounds (2026)
Trials
  • £35 ACU club trial registration (2026)
  • £50 ACU national trial registration (2026)
  • Free Motorsport UK RS Clubman licence (car trials)
Oval & speedway
  • £60 Spedeworth new licence – 1600cc / 'Back To Basics' Bangers (2026)
  • £85 Spedeworth new licence – National Bangers, 1300cc Stock Cars, 2.0 Hot Rods (2026)
  • £32 per meeting, including ORCi fund 'Back To Basics' Bangers day licence (2026)
Autograss
  • Under £500 Initial outlay to race Class 1 (Cwmdu Car Club estimate, year not stated)
Rallycross
  • £85 Motorsport UK RS Inter Club licence (as listed September 2026)
  • £30 membership; £80 championship registration BTRDA Rallycross club membership and championship registration (2026)
  • £332 (£292 for MDA members) BTRDA Rallycross entry, Blyton Park rounds (2026)

Figures from each guide’s sources, checked September 2026. Prices change; confirm with the organiser before you book.

Questions

What is the cheapest motorsport to get into in the UK?

Road rallying and car trials, which can use a road car: the RS Clubman licence is free, road rallies start from £30 and car trials entry is around £30–£40 per event.

How much does it cost to start karting?

Arrive-and-drive sessions need no licence. To race your own kart at club level, Motorsport UK's first kart licence starter pack is £78 (Motorsport UK Shop, checked 10 Sep 2026; listed as sold out).

Can I drag race my own car?

Yes, at Santa Pod's Run What Ya Brung: £19 (including £3 booking fee) admission and £50 to run, with no competition licence.

Sources